Winning With Offense

July 23, 2010 – 9:12 am

NYY 10, Kansas City 4. Bad pitching is apparently contagious, as CC Sabathia made it five bad starts in a row for the Yankees. CC did get through 6.1 innings with only four runs (three earned, ergo a “quality” start), but he was in trouble pretty much every inning except the third, the only inning the Royals didn’t score or at least have a runner in scoring position. In fact, had it not been for blown calls on KC base runners at second base in the first inning and at home in the fifth inning, CC could easily have given up a bunch more runs. Hopefully this was just an off night for CC and he’ll return to form in his next start — he’s the only solid starter left right now.

A-Rod #799Offensively, though, the Yankees lit things up again, which is exactly what they need right now. Alex Rodriguez continues to be an RBI machine, knocking in four runs while going 3-for-5. Plus, Nick Swisher continued his hot streak going 2-for-5, and Mark Teixeira just keeps getting hotter and hotter as well, going 3-for-5. And don’t look now, but even Derek Jeter is on a roll, going 2-for-5 with an inside-the-park home run. Add it all up and the top of the lineup went a combined 10-for-20 with 8 RBIs, 3 doubles, and 2 HRs. Well done.

But what was the deal with Jorge Posada in this game? First off, in the fifth inning Nick Swisher threw out Billy Butler at the plate by a couple of feet, and Posada caught the ball in perfect position to block the plate and make the tag — only he never bothered to tag Butler! Fortunately the umpire called Butler out anyway, but Posada clearly did not tag him. Then in the sixth inning, with a man on third and one out, Betancourt strikes out on a wild pitch — but instead of throwing to first to get the sure out on Betancourt, Posada for some strange reason decides to try to pick off the runner on third. And naturally he throws the ball away, and the runner scores, Betancourt ends up on second, and no out at all is recorded. What was he possibly thinking? And finally to top off the evening, in the seventh with two outs Bloomquist strikes out on another wild pitch, and this time Posada does make the throw to first — but throws the ball a foot over Teixeira’s head! Fortunately, Tex was able to jump up and catch the ball and still tag the base in time to make the out. But all in all, a very weird night for Jorge.

Photo: ESPN Box Score | FanGraphs Game Graph | PitchFX Game Tool

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.